Members of the board

  • B.M.A. Jankovich – Chair
  • L.E.M. Vet – Vice Chair
  • J.H.W. Loudon – Secretary, executive board member
  • G.L.M. Van Hengstum – Treasurer
  • M.J. Heineman – General member
  • S.J. Lohmann – General member
  • C. Van Asselt – Advisor to the board


Founding Patron: Mr Wijnand Pon

Ambassador: Mr John D. Liu



In 2021, Commonland was led by Willem Ferwerda (CEO and founder) and Jeroen Voorhuis (COO), and a management team consisting of Laurens Gomes (a.i.), Director Landscapes Development & Support, Simon Moolenaar, Director Knowledge, Education & Innovation and Anne Thidemann, Director Development & Communications.


Advisory Council

The international Advisory Council acts as our knowledge centre. Members are asked to join based on their expertise, long standing commitment and personal experience with system change. Members are frequently asked to give their individual advice on technical and political issues. In 2021, we said farewell to John Burton.


Advisory Council members:

  • Mr. Zamba Batjargal
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Braungart
  • Mr. Jesús Casas Grande
  • Mr. Luc Gnacadja
  • Mr. Mike Jansen
  • Mr. Nanno Kleiterp
  • Mr. Geoff Lawton
  • Mrs. Jane Madgwick
  • Dr. Mantang Cai
  • Dr. Charles Massy
  • Mr. K.H. Moon
  • Mrs. Meiny Prins
  • Mr. Robert Reibestein
  • Mr. Herman Rosa Chávez
  • Prof. Dr. Rui Li
  • Dr. Sara Scherr
  • Mr. Wouter-Jan Schouten
  • Mr. Mehmet Serdar Sarýgül
  • Mr. Pavan Sukhdev
  • Dr. Pita Verweij
  • Dr. Daniel Christian Wahl
  • Mr. Jonathan Wates
  • Prof. Dr. Herman Wijffels

“Nature is anti-polarisation – everything works together.”

- Bela Jankovich, Chairman of the board